Mr. President, Listen To Wanjiku Speak,

image

I will never shy away from declaring that I whole heartedly supported UhuRuto for the presidency during the 2013 general elections. I will never be cowered to speak otherwise because then I knew they were the best among the horses that were racing.

They had a great vision for the citizenry properly and clearly outlined in their promising manifesto. Great infrastructural projects, improving the education sector, a double digit economy, reducing maternal mortality, youth employment among many more.

The punchline for their election was ‘To Believe’ which I did and still do to date.

I didn’t vote for them because Uhuru came from my ethnic community but because he held great promise for this great country. He was the best president we yet had to have.

Lately so much has been happening that’s undermining their rule and worse still eroding the confidence that we as Kenyans had in them to deliver us to the promised land of economic development, proper educational systems and increased safety for us all in our great land.

The Kapedo massacre, the Mpeketoni massacre, The Lamu mass murders, The recent Mandera terrorist attacks are some of the security lapses that have forced Kenyans to #OccupyHarrambeeAvenue forgetting that occupying the avenue won’t solve any of our security problems.

I am not against demonstrations but we have to look before we leap. Hash tags against the presidency have been all over the most common being #StopTheDrunkPresident which gained ground after Uhuru Kenyatta asked people to keep vigilant and be responsible of their own security. Hashtags won’t solve any of the problems we are facing. Not even the #MyPresidentMyChoice one will keep that child in Turkana from sleeping hungry.

I might have voted for the flashy duo but in as much as I believed in them, being secure in my own country is also my constitutional right.

Call me a mole call me whatever it is you wish to call me but the truth is some situations are just unacceptable. One being mass murders that are more often than not answered by swagged up speeches characterized by tough speak that later bears no fruit. I cannot sit by, as a Jubilant and watch so many of my country men suffer day in day out just because I put Ngina’s father in State House.

I have to speak out and remind him of the promise of a better Kenya that made me and my family convinced that he was the best man for the job. I have to let him know why he sits in that chair and not anyone else. It’s because Kenyans saw that he was and still is the best guy to lead us on. I want to vote for him again in 2017, but for that to happen, I have to be safe. He has to guarantee my security and safety. If I die along the way, too bad Mr. President, for someone else may carry the day for you couldn’t keep me safe.

The P.R stunts will never help us jump any of these hurdles that we are currently being exposed to. Neither will the hashtags nor the tough speak that is often followed by no action.

For example, after the Kapedo situation, the president only asked for guns that had been stolen from the officers to be returned. What about those that were used to ambush our officers? Where were those supposed to go? Ambush others? I believe the situation would have been bettered by carrying out a complete disarmament exercise.

The problem with our security apparatus lies not in Ole Lenku Or Kimaiyo but the whole police force. How do you expect a person who joined the police academy through bribery to be different after they join the force? They will remain corrupt and will not inspect that suspicious cargo  just because some few thousands of shillings forced them to look elsewhere. They will not raid that homestead because the owner bought them some chicken.

Why is the General Service Unit headquarters located in Nairobi? Why is The administration police academy located in Embakassi? And the Kiganjo one? All these areas are relatively ‘safe’. They aren’t hardship areas. The terrain is just like that in any middle level college training ECD teachers all over the country.

But, can you compare the jobs of these two professionals? How do you expect a police officer used to the highland climate of Mt Kenya to work in Baringo, or Turkana or Pokot? Can they survive these hardship areas? An Anti Stock Theft officer is trained in an area that reads and hears of cattle rustling only in the media. How can this person handle rustlers on the ground?

I believe it’s high time we put up police training colleges in these areas that have for decades faced a challenge in managing security matters. As such, the response time to insecurity incidences will be shortened and also the conditions prevalent in these areas will equip the officers with the adequate coping mechanisms for they will be familiar with the terrain of their future working places.

I believe in this government. Sometimes it becomes hard to be a jubilant based on the many challenges that afflict us as a nation. It becomes an uphill task to believe the word of H.E Uhuru Kenyatta when too little action follows his utterances.

image

One response to “Mr. President, Listen To Wanjiku Speak,

Leave a Reply

