An Open Letter To The Miniskirt..

image

Hello,

Let me blog since I cannot demonstrate.

I am shirtless as I write this open letter to the miniskirt.I know my body does not come anywhere close to that of my friends in Sauti Sol,neither does my gym sessions assure that I will get there, but either way am shirtless.

I mention shirtless because, unlike you dear miniskirt even if I walked in town like that no one would beat me up, never mind am shirtless.

I start by describing myself nude, because I do not understand why people think you are not a cloth. In other words you are fabric won to cover a part of the body, while radiating beauty and confidence.

Shirtless is however nudity. Yet people are after you and not the nudity.

That is not why am writing a letter to you. I write because to be very sincere I like you. That is the only reason I would write to you.

I know your history too – yes I have read about Mary Quant when she opened her boutique Bazaarin 1955 in London, on King’s Road.

Those who wear you pass a message that reads – free, energetic, youthful, revolutionary, and unconventional.

Of course I know that at one time a barmaid who wore you in Tanzania in 1968, was stoned by a mob that supposedly disapproved of the shortness and tight fit of her miniskirt.

I remember when politicians argued that those who wore you were encouraging the spread of HIV/Aids.

Of course there was that unfortunate incident in Russia, where a father hired hit men to kill his 21 year old daughter because she could not stop wearing Minis-skirts.

But it is not all gloom, in 2008,Samsung, the guys who have won me with their Samsung Note series, introduced a cell phone dubbed, “Miniskirt Season 2” which, while looking nothing like a miniskirt, is targeted toward women who like to “Talk, Play, Love”

See, dear Miniskirt, I checked you out.

No-one attacks you as you hang on the shop, or as you dry after the wash. I mean I have seen you right in the middle of town and they did not bother to snatch you from the point of sale.

You are only a danger after our beautiful sisters,girlfriends, aunties or mothers put you on. It seems they transform you to a dangerous social weapon, which some men cannot put up with.

So they strip you from their bodies and blame you for all manner of things.

I have a problem with that; I hold that the fact that the hemline is above the knee does not mean that you have become guilty.

You see Kenya is a country that has attempted to come up with a National dress – basically an accepted kind of clothing and there was no agreement.

At one time, the late Mutula Kilonzo, former Minister for Education, led a public call for girls to be allowed miniskirts in schools arguing it addressed the acceptance of dressing choice, sexuality confidence and general beauty.

The constitution did not see a reason to ban a certain type of dressing. In fact the latest discovery is that the first civilization actually used Micro Minis.

The problem we have is not the mini, it is a few men attempting to protect their own perverted view of life. Like someone argued elsewhere how does undressing women in Miniskirts, address the alleged issue of nudity?

Fashion is a conversation that can be endless in nature, but one must love that we have had a debate on Mukimo as a food and Miniskirt as a dress.

Dear Miniskirt, look your life in the Kenyan street and as a cloth for our ladies will not be admitted in the hospital or morgue of a few men who cannot appreciate that women have a choice to what they choose to dress in.

The only violence acceptable to you my friend (the miniskirt), is the violence that comes with vigorous washing and the pain of hot steam as our mothers, sisters and friends iron or steam you to straightness.

There is a famous quote about you -which I paraphrase, the best letters are as short as a miniskirt so as to captivate, yet long enough to address the matter.

Simply put dear miniskirt my message is let women choose what they should wear, I do not know of a woman who does not know or who does not take time to dress to the occasion.

They all choose different clothing to job interviews, a first date, a cocktail, a social event, a dinner and a dance too.

In fact as far as I know, it is only women who have that unwritten rule – to appear in a wedding in a dress almost strictly.

The problem of dressing for occasion is actually a male issue.

For you dear Miniskirt, I agree #MyDressMyChoice.

I rest.

Still I like you.

Regards,

Dennis Itumbi.

One response to “An Open Letter To The Miniskirt..

Leave a Reply

