The Urban girl next to me…

Its been quite a while now. I have been burning with a zeal of creativity within me but unfortunately nothing has been coming along. I have wanted to write something real baaaad…

So today as I went along my business I boarded a mat to tao. A typical boring Thursday afternoon, the sun being so hot that the burning sulphur in hell seems child’s play. Breeze hakuna hata kidogo such that irritating beads of sweat can’t help but form on my face.

So I am sitted in this mat which is playing annoyingly loud music. Making it worse is the fact that the Jamaican blurb is more of noise than it is rhythm. This is the kind of mat that has those annoying condas who won’t stop filling the vehicle with creatures even after it is very evident that all seats are taken.

I have to occupy my mind lest I reconsider the whole idea of going to tao on this hopeless fifth day of February. So I am thinking of how KPLC is lying to us that the cost of electricity has gone down substantially… My mind is thinking of my annoying neighbour who wakes up at 4 in the morning to play lingala music; does he confuse our ploti for Congo? I should Call NEMA because of this guy. I am thinking of Millie – my class three sweetheart; meeenh.. that girl was fine… My mind then reminds me of how annoying skiza tunes are; I should blacklist anyone who has set one…

My reverie is broken by the smell of her cologne… It’s fruity or so I think. The aroma is comparable to none. How much it makes my heart warm; not even the smell of roses can challenge this. The last time someone’s cologne had this effect on me was ….. NEVER!

I turn to my left to take a glimpse at this sweet smelling thing sitted next to me. She is talking to some other passenger on her left so I can’t quite make out her face. From the anterior view (view ya side) I can for one tell that her hair is natural. It’s as dark as a black diamond. It’s not curly but straightened out. It goes several inches below her shoulders. I can tell that it’s an asset she maintains well for there is no sign of those white white things that are evident in some girls’ hair.

I inhale deeply once more to get a taste of the rich beautifully sweet, husky aroma emanating from this child of God. She is rocking a blue dress that goes no further than her knees. On her right wrist is a watch that has a silver coating,. I can’t tell if its legit silver or not but it surely looks good on her.. Based on how that dress hugs those curves, team mafisi can tell you that she is as proud of her beautiful body as is a Kale’ proud of Mursik.

Today is one of those days that I am proud of not owning a car. At least I have a reason to sit in a mat and be treated to such breathtaking beauty…

She finally looks my way. I am awestruck. She catches me intently surveying the gift nature has seen me worth of sitting next to. She doesn’t say a word but instead just smiles. She has beautiful eyes. The kind of eyes that look at you and you start questioning whether you left the comb in your hair. They are warm but at the same time scorching,,

“I am Millie,”…

My words choke me. I can’t even clearly say my name but I remember mumbling “Ken” somewhere between my confusion. She answers my anxiety with a smile.

Between my stealing glances at her and faking concentration on the book I am holding pretending to read, my mind is in a spin. Her beauty affects me in such a way that all that’s in my thoughts is how immaculate everything about this chic is. Her composure and elegance, her confidence and class, her beauty and sophisticated poise…

We exchange a few words and all the while my confident subconscious demands that I ask for her number.

I surely as hell want to see her again…

I want to smell that cologne again…

I want to hold her soft palm in mine again…

I want to swim in the warmth of her smile again…

I want my whole self to melt in the intensity of her gaze again…

Unfortunately It is as if I left my confidence somewhere in my wardrobe…

3 responses to “The Urban girl next to me…

Leave a Reply

