Dinner

I had promised to take her for dinner. It was our second wedding anniversary. Being the Managing Director of my company, I had had quite a long day and I didn’t think that I would deliver on my earlier promise. I felt exhausted as I took a lift to the basement parking lot.

It was a few minutes to 8 PM. I had loosened my tie within the course of the day but I still looked immaculate. Other than the fatigue, I looked as fresh as if I had just left the shower. I thought about my wife back home. She was waiting for me. Eagerly… I knew this because I had seen the glow on her face as I left the house earlier today.

She was beautiful. My wife. Her elegance filled the whole room when she entered. Her infectious laughter was all I lived for. If it wasn’t for her insistence, I would never have left the civil service to start the company. Having her own fashion line meant that she was constantly occupied meaning we Skyped once a day. At first she had wanted to leave everything and work for me but I had flatly said no.

I didn’t want a profession to come between what we had. What we had was too important to let the business have its way with it. Besides, her love for grace had made her perfect at what she did. She designed all her merchandise at first but now she had people doing that for her.

As I made my way to the Audi i8 packed at the far end of the basement parking lot, thoughts of how far we had come flooded my mind and I couldn’t help but smile at how successful we had come out to be.

Sheila, my PA was opening her car door as I approached mine. On seeing me, she stopped to stare. I started rubbing my face thinking something had lodged itself there and she burst out laughing.

“Your tie looks natural.”

“(Grinning sheepishly) Thank you She.”

“Get home safe. See you tomorrow Ken.

As I reversed and in a flash left the parking, I knew I had to take her out tonight. It was her day. Turning on the music system, I selected Brenda and hit the highway.

15 minutes later I was driving into my compound in Kitisuru. The security lights were on but the house had a glow of red inside.  I automatically knew today was going to be special.

Alighting the vehicle, I proceeded to the waiting room to find a bottle of Scotch whisky waiting for me. Some of the golden liquid had been poured into a glass which I gulped down in one sip. Calling out on my wife, I heard the sound of soft footsteps coming down the stairs after which my wife Lynn appeared.

She was in a red dress. A flowing red dress. It clung to her body as if its existence depended on it. I felt a tinge of pride as I watched her come down. Her coal black hair flowed effortlessly on her shoulders looking as smooth as silk. I wanted to feel it between my fingers. I wanted to feel her. Her face and her body. Her lips and her thighs. Her warmth and her awesomeness.

She was as beautiful as the day I first met her on a voyage 4 years earlier.  The only difference was that she was more mature now. She knew how to make me fall for her all over again every time I saw her. I wanted to make her mine for the rest of her existence. I wouldn’t settle for less. Tonight I would make a replica of us.

As she fell into my arms, I brought my lips down to hers… I always longed for their softness. They were indulgent and sensuous. They brushed mine in a fieriness I hadn’t felt before. They were demanding of being taken care of. They longed for indulgence. They were fiery, delicious and passionate… In that fleety moment, I couldn’t think straight. It was just her lips and mine…

I caressed her face as our lips engaged. It was soft. I loved her.

I wanted to pull away lest we got late for our 8:45 dinner reservation. I knew if we kept at it we wouldn’t make it there. The date was important but Lynn was everything. I not only wanted to keep kissing her but I wanted to be by her always and forever.

If we got late for the dinner she would be my dinner…

*************************************************************************************************************

Isn’t that the beauty of life? To be loved and loving back? Looking forward to getting home because back there loving arms await?

He who finds a wife finds a good thing…

“An excellent wife who can find? She is far more precious than jewels. The heart of her husband trusts in her, and he will have no lack of gain. She does him good, and not harm, all the days of her life. She seeks wool and flax, and works with willing hands. She is like the ships of the merchant; she brings her food from afar…” Proverbs…

Leave a Reply

